Contract Pilot Services with a Difference

IPS seeks to communicate to all GA operators the validity and significance of SAFA inspections, currently in use in Europe and the ECAC countries*.  The method of determining aircraft to be checked may be random or targeted, and may depend upon variables such as the number of inspectors available, causal factors, suspicion of not upholding ICAO standards, et cetera.  The number of inspections will range from very few to several hundred per year, per country.  Download a copy of a SAFA form,…..

The basic (54 item checklist) may include checks of the following:

  •     Pilot & Cabin (Annex 1)
  •     Procedures and Manuals that should be carried in the cockpit
  •     Compliance with these procedures by flight and cabin crew
  •     Safety equipment in the cockpit and cabin
  •     Airworthiness / Maintenance condition of the aircraft

(in addition there may be other items of concern to the nation carrying out the inspection)

Findings or “discovery” are defined into four categories:

  •     Categories (0,1,2,3)
  •     Ranging from None (0), through Minor (1), to Grounding (2); or, possible revocation of entry permit (3)

Recent problem areas reported by operators include.

  •     Non Type rated First Officers (be aware of US Change effective 6 June 2006)
  •     Non Current First Class Medical Certificate (> 6 months)
  •     Non Current Type Rating (PIC or SIC check > 12 months)
  •     PIC > 60 years in Commercial ops (beware of State definition of Comm Ops)
  •     Lack of Noise Certificate
  •     Proof of Radio FM Immunity

Upon sucessful completion of your safety check, the inspector should present you with a postcard sized receipt.  In most cases, that is good for 48 to 72 hours, in satisfying a SAFA inspector at another location, unless that station has a reason to follow-up (bird or hail strike, violation or incident, et cetera).

Download SAFA form , version: DGAC France

* Member States of ECAC are:

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia & Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Graphical reference: